The Winners

2018 Manulele Awards

Story by Shannon Reporting Photos: Andy Hawes, Eli Viszolay, and John Weaver

Freesurf Magazine was thrilled to bring back our Manulele Awards to celebrate Hawai’i’s leading Watermen and Women! After months of public voting from our audience and surf fans, it was time to reveal the winners. We gathered the cream of the crop at Restaurant 604 on February 2nd, an incredible venue overlooking the water near Pearl Harbor.

A breath taking Hawaiian chant kicked off the night with traditional dance performances, setting the tone to celebrate the islands’ talented athletes. Surfers were dressed to impress, looking fabulous and ready for a fun evening. Publisher Mike Latronic greeted the crowd, as co-hosts Chris Latronic and Shannon Reporting introduced the award categories. Beautiful glass wave sculptures awaited the winners, made by David Wight Glass Art.

Following the award presentation, Natalina Dance Company wowed the crowd with a fun samba dance, getting everyone off their feet and on the dance floor. A live concert by the Typical Hawaiian band jammed reggae tunes following the awards for an after-party. Open bar was provided thanks to our sponsors: Pacifico Beer, Herradura Tequila, and Jack Daniel’s.

You can watch the Manulele Awards Show coming soon to KHON2 and KHII5.

Congrats to all the nominees! The people spoke, they voted, and the winners are:

• Most Progressive: Seth Moniz
• Web Surfer: Koa Rothman
• Ambassador of Aloha: Tammy Moniz
• Big Wave Charger: Billy Kemper
• All-Around Waterman: Kai Lenny
• Lifetime Achievement: Eddie Rothman
• Top Female Surfer: Coco Ho
• Top Male Surfer: John Florence

Mahalo to our sponsors  Restaurant 604, Jack Daniels, Hawaiian Telcom, Honolulu Buick, Cadillac, GMC, Pacifico, Surf News Network, and KHON2




My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop