The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau Invitees

Courtesy Quiksliver

In collaboration with the Aikau Family, we are pleased to announce the official Invitees and Alternates for the 31st annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau at Waimea Bay. Our Invitees will attend the official Opening celebration held on Thursday, December 3rd, 3pm, at Waimea Bay.

For those who don’t know, the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is a one-day big wave riding event with strict wave height requirements; it will only take place when waves meet or exceed the Hawaiian 20-foot minimum (wave face heights of approximately 40 feet). This was the threshold at which Eddie enjoyed to ride the Bay. The event has a three-month holding period that will begin December 1, 2015, and run through February 29, 2016.

“The Eddie” is the original big wave riding event and stands as the measure for every big wave event that exists in the world today. It honors Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau, whose respect of the ocean; concern for the safety of all who entered it on his watch as lifeguard of Waimea Bay; and the way with which he rode Waimea Bay on its most giant and memorable days.

On the occasion of this year’s Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, the exhibition “The Big Wave Riders of Hawaii” will make a stop in Honolulu.  Dedicated to the intriguing parallels that connect the histories of surfing and photography, the exhibition showcase a handpicked selection of collodion plate portraits by Bernard Testemale.

As part of Quiksilver’s commitment to perpetuating ocean safety – a hallmark of Aikau’s life, Quiksilver is delighted to announce that for the first time ever, its new Inflatable Ocean Safety vest will be made available to all contestants in the 2016 edition.

Developed in collaboration with Aqua Lung, a global leader in personal aquatic equipment for professional and recreational Use, the QUIKSILVER X AQUA LUNG IOS vest is the culmination of two year’s development and represents the cutting edge of big wave surfing safety technology. Worn over the top of any type of wet-suit or lycra, the IOS is a reinforced neoprene inflatable vest designed to rapidly and safely bring the wearer to the surface in a heavy hold-down situation.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of 8 times, most recently on December 9, 2009, won by California’s Greg Long.

When the contest happens, it will be live webcast here.

The 2015/2016 Invitees are: (listed first name alphabetical order)

Aaron Gold, Albee Layer, Bruce Irons, Clyde Aikau, Dave Wassel, Garrett McNamara, Grant Baker, Greg Long, Ian Walsh, Jamie Mitchell, Jamie O’Brien, Jeremy Flores, John John Florence, Kala Alexander, Kelly Slater, Kohl Christensen, Makua Rothman, Mark Healey, Nathan Fletcher, Noah Johnson, Peter Mel,Ramon Navarro, Reef McIntosh, Ross Clarke-Jones, Shane Dorian, Sunny Garcia and Takayuki Wakita

Official Alternates (in seeding order):

Mason Ho (Aikau Pick), Danilo Couto, Mark Matthews, Koa Rothman, Ben Wilkinson, Jamie Sterling, Billy Kemper, Shawn Dollar, Carlos Burle, Kealii Mamala, Gabriel Villaran, Michael Ho, Kai Lenny, Kahea Hart, Nathan Florence, Damien Hobgood, Kalani Chapman, Ryan Hipwood, Danny Fuller, Nic Lamb, Anthony Tashnick, Rusty Long, Derek Dunfee and Brock Little,

Event past winners:

1985/1986 : Denton Miyamura (Haw), 1986/1987 : Clyde Aikau (Haw), 1989/1990 : Keone Downing (Haw), 1998/1999 : Noah Johnson (Haw), 2000/2001 : Ross Clarke-Jones (Aus), 2004/2005 : Bruce Irons (Haw), 2001/2002 : Kelly Slater (USA) and 2009/2010 : Greg Long (USA)


My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop