Trialists Set for Drug Aware Margaret River Pro

The second stop on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro, will begin next week with the event trials, which will be held on Tuesday, April 1, 2014. Results from the trials will be announced at the end of the day. 

The trials will determine which three athletes will join the Top 34 and Top 17 and complete the field for the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro. Competing for the two remaining spots in the men’s draw, 16 athletes, comprised of eight local surfers from WA and eight regional surfers from Australia, will battle it out at Margaret River’s main break. Eight regional female athletes will battle for the final place to compete against the world’s best at Margaret River.

Drug Aware Margaret River Pro Men’s Trials:
– Jay Thompson
– Perth Standlick
– Nathan Hedge
– Mitch Coleborn
– Jacob Wilcox
– Mitch Parkinson
– Yadin Nicol
– Jay Davies
– Josh Burke
– Jack Robinson
– Jake Paterson
– Dino Adrian
– Jerome Forrest
– Drew Everest
– Shaun Howe

Mark Occhilupo, 1999 ASP World Champion, was originally scheduled to compete in the Trials but has withdrawn following a back injury. His replacement in the Trials has yet to be determined.

Drug Aware Margaret River Pro Women’s Trials:
– Laura Macaulay
– Bronte Macaulay
– Emi Campbell
– Claire Bevilaqua
– Bailee Hastie
– Felicity Palmateer
– Mikaela Greene
– Alex Durant

2014 is the first time in over 20 years that Margaret River has been a WCT stop for both the men and women. This year will also see the first time the infamous right-hand break, the Box, has featured as a competition location.

The Drug Aware Margaret River Pro will be held from April 2 – 13, 2014.


My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop