2013-2014 Eddie Aikau Draws to a Close

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau holding period that began on December 1, 2013, officially draws to a close today. The original 1-day big wave invitational with a strict requirement for minimum wave face height of 40 feet, now turns its attention to the 30th celebration of “The Eddie” in the upcoming winter of 2014/15.

Organizers maintained a close watch on several big wave episodes during a very consistent season of surf on Oahu’s North Shore this winter. But an unusual pattern of adverse winds and stormy conditions decimated the biggest days, including the “swell of the decade” that pummeled the North Shore with stormy waves of up to 60 feet on January 22nd.

To date, this surfing event of ultimate prestige has run only eight times in 29 years and only eight big wave riders can lay claim to attaining its high honor: Clyde Aikau (HI); Denton Miyamura (HI); Keone Downing (HI); Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS); Kelly Slater (USA); Noah Johnson (HI); Bruce Irons (HI); and Greg Long (USA).

Please join us at Waimea Bay next December, when we celebrate 30 years of honor, respect, culture, surfing’s roots, and Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau.

30TH Celebration of Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau
December 1: Holding period begins
December 4: Traditional Hawaiian Opening Ceremony at Waimea Bay, 3pm

About Eddie Aikau:
Just 31 years of age when he was lost at sea during an ill-fated voyage of Hawaii’s Hokule’a double-hull sailing canoe in 1978, Aikau was a young man at the height of a career equally dedicated to big-wave riding and lifeguarding at historic Waimea Bay. Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop