ISA Returns to Ecuador for the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship

ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
April 6-14
Montañita, Ecuador

The Hawaii Masters Surf team is headed to Ecuador to defend their title from last year’s ISA World Surfing Championships. On the team we’ve got:

  • Kalani Robb
  • Sunny Garcia
  • Love Hodel
  • Mike Latronic
  • Reuben Balmores
  • Shuji Kasuya
  • Rochelle Ballard
  • Mike Takahashi (alt)

From April 6-14, Ecuador will become the gathering place of the world¹s best Masters Surfers (over-35 years old), who will compete in the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship (WMSC) in the high-performance right point break of Montañita. Over 20 countries and 150 men and women surfers will soon arrive in Ecuador¹s surf capital and warm beaches of the South American country.

Freesurf will be covering the event online, so be sure to check back for updates, videos, and press releases.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is excited to announce the ISA will be returning to Ecuador for the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship from April 6 to the 14th.

Ecuador last hosted the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2009 and the ISA World Surfing Games in 2004.

Over 25 Nations are expected to send delegations that will gather at the world-class surf break in the costal town of Montañita, Ecuador to compete for the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy and individual Gold Medals.

“I am very excited to return to Ecuador and witness the world’s top over-35 surfers compete in the perfect point break waves of Montañita,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Thanks to the support of Ecuador’s President Correa, the Ministries of Sports and Tourism, and the Ecuador Surfing Federation (FES), this will be an incredible event. I am looking forward to enjoying the warm weather and the wonderful hospitality of the Ecuadorian people.”

The ISA is pleased to announce that 2012 ISA Grand Masters Gold Medalist and 1999 ASP World Tour Champion, Sunny Garcia will return along with 2012 ISA Women’s Masters Gold Medalist, Rochelle Ballard, as part of the defending Gold Medal Team, Hawaii.

The Masters brings together the top over-35 year old surfers in the world. Past champions include three-time ASP World Champion Tom Curren (USA) and seven-time women’s ASP World Champion Layne Beachley (AUS). The most decorated ISA World Master’s Surfing Champion is Puerto Rico’s Juan Ashton with four Gold Medals.

The 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship will include the Men’s and Women’s Masters division (over 35), Men’s Grand Masters (over 40), Men’s Kahuna (over 45), and Men’s Grand Kahuna (over 50). Each division will produce individual Gold Medalists.

The results from all the divisions will deliver the points for the overall team ranking and winner of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy. The trophy is named after Eduardo Arena who is the founded the ISA in 1964.


My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop