Hawaiians hold their own at Virginia Beach

ECSC / Vans Pro / Vans Pro Junior

ASP 4 Star Men’s WQS
ASP 4 Star Men’s Pro Junior
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
19 – 25 August 2013

Live Coverage  |  Results/Photos/Videos etc

Joshua Moniz Takes Vans Pro Junior

Patrick Gudauskas has won the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 4-Star Vans Pro in peaky two-to-four foot waves at 1st Street Jetty in Virginia Beach.
Gudauskas, current alternate on the ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), led the final from start to finish, opening his campaign with a strong 7 point ride, quickly finding a backup score of a 5. The San Clemente surfer would hold on to the victory despite a late-heat charge by runner-up Deivid Silva (BRA), 18, solidifying the win over additional finalists Keanu Asing (HAW), 20, and Kaito Ohashi (JPN), 21.

In addition to the Men’s Vans Pro Final, Joshua Moniz (Waikiki, HI), 17, won the ASP 4-Star Vans Pro Junior over younger brother Seth, 15, who would finish in second, deadly Japanese standout Hiroto Ohhara (JPN), 16, and the North Shore’s Kalani David (North Shore, HI), 15.

Stop No. 4 of 5 on the 2013 ASP North America Pro Junior Series, the Vans Pro Junior’s ASP 4-Star status plays a crucial role in deciding both qualifiers for the ASP World Junior Championships and the ASP North America Pro Junior Champion.

Joshua Moniz built momentum throughout the Vans Pro Junior, peaking in the final with an impressive combination of progression and power. The young Hawaiian would also dominate the final affair from start to finish, netting one the day’s high heat totals of 15.97 in the process.

“That was a fun final and I was kind of scared because leading up to the final I never really had a good heat,” Moniz said. “I knew I had to get a couple of scores and luckily I found two right off of the bat. I actually really like this wave and I guess we scored. We’ve had fun little peaks. I surf waves like this at home all the time and I felt pretty used to the conditions.”

Check the Live Coverage

1 – Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.67
2 – Deivid Silva (BRA) 12.63
3 – Keanu Asing (HAW) 11.00
4 – Kaito Ohashi (JPN) 9.10

SF 1: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 13.17, Kaito Ohashi (JPN) 11.97, Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 10.80, Ryan Briggs
SF 2: Keanu Asing (HAW) 16.17, Deivid Silva (BRA) 14.27, Evan Geiselman (USA) 13.97, Cory Arrambide

QF 1: Kaito Ohashi (JPN) 13.26, Ryan Briggs (USA) 12.10, Ben Bourgeois (USA) 11.97, Jonah Carter
QF 2: Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 15.23, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.86, Nathaniel Curran (USA) 12.47, Matt Pagan
QF 3: Deivid Silva (BRA) 14.83, Cory Arrambide (USA) 12.46, Rafael Teixeira (BRA) 11.67, Cam Richards
QF 4: Evan Geiselman (USA) 13.10, Keanu Asing (HAW) 13.10, Carlos Munoz (CRI) 11.13, Italo Ferreira

Heat 1: Kaito Ohashi (JPN) 15.16, Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 12.83, Ian Gouveia (BRA) 12.70, Parker Coffin
Heat 2: Ben Bourgeois (USA) 15.33, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 13.30, Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Michael Powell
Heat 3: Matt Pagan (USA) 10.80, Jonah Carter (USA) 10.50, Gabe Kling (USA) 8.33, Chris Foster (USA) 6.90
Heat 4: Nathaniel Curran (USA) 13.00, Ryan Briggs (USA) 10.73, Phillip Goold (USA) Tanner Gudauskas
Heat 5: Deivid Silva (BRA) 16.03, Italo Ferreira (BRA) 12.94, Brian Toth (PRI) 10.30, Evan Thompson
Heat 6: Cory Arrambide (USA) 14.50, Carlos Munoz (CRI) 11.33, Chris Waring (USA) 6.54, Brad Ettinger
Heat 7: Evan Geiselman (USA) 12.24, Cam Richards (USA) 11.90, Cody Thompson (USA), Aaron Cormican
Heat 8: Keanu Asing (HAW) 15.17, Rafael Teixeira (BRA) 15.03, Wesley Santos (BRA) 11.40, Joshua Moniz

1 – Joshua Moniz (HAW) 15.97
2 – Seth Moniz (HAW) 13.16
3 – Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 11.74
4 – Kalani David (HAW) 10.90

SF 1: Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 14.94, Seth Moniz (HAW) 13.23, Rafael Teixeira (BRA) 12.13, Cam Richards
SF 2: Kalani David (HAW) 13.33, Joshua Moniz (HAW) 11.57, Kaimana Jaquias (HAW, Noe Mar McGonagle

video platformvideo managementvideo solutionsvideo player


My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop