2014 Billabong Pipemasters

Banzai Pipeline (Ehukai Beach Park)

The Billabong Pipe Masters, the final stop of the Vans Triple Crown and the final event of the ASP Men’s World Tour, is the perfect venue for the culmination of both series. An iconic and historic wave, the Banzai Pipeline is often referred to as the best wave on the planet. Known for its perfect, heaving top-to-bottom barrels and its close proximity to shore, not only is it the perfect wave for those willing to charge, but also for the spectators on the beach.

Part of the allure of Pipeline is that with the perfection comes consequence. Pipeline is one of the most dangerous waves on the planet. It has claimed more lives than any other wave in the world—one fatality a year, on average—inflicts numerous injuries and breaks boards for a hobby. The cause of danger, a shallow slab of reef with crevasses and coral heads, is also the reason for the barreling shape and immense power of the wave.

Whether competitors drop into a wedging Pipeline left or free fall into a Backdoor right, surfing Pipe, especially big Pipe, requires a physical and mental commitment all to itself. It’s why the Pipe Masters title is so prestigious and its champions are some of the most highly respected surfers on the planet.

Billabong Pipe Masters Champions

2013 – Kelly Slater, USA
2012 – Joel Parkinson, Australia
2011 – Kieren Perrow, Australia
2010 – Jeremy Flores, France
2009 – Taj Burrow, Australia
2008 – Kelly Slater, USA
2007 – Bede Durbidge, Australia
2006 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2005 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2004 – Jamie O’Brien, Hawaii
2003 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2002 – Andy Irons, Hawaii
2001 – Bruce Irons, Hawaii
2000 – Rob Machado, USA
1999 – Kelly Slater, USA
1998 – Jake Paterson, Australia
1997 – John Gomes, Hawaii
1996 – Kelly Slater, USA
1995 – Kelly Slater, USA
1994 – Kelly Slater, USA
1993 – Derek Ho, Hawaii
1992 – Kelly Slater, USA
1991 – Tom Carroll, Australia
1990 – Tom Carroll, Australia
1989 – Gary Elkerton, Australia
1988 – Rob Page, Australia
1987 – Tom Carroll, Australia
1986 – Derek Ho, Hawaii
1985 – Mark Occhilupo, Australia
1984 – Joey Buran, USA
1983 – Dane Kealoha, Hawaii
1982 – Michael Ho, Hawaii
1981 – Simon Anderson, Australia
1980 – Mark Richards, Australia
1979 – Larry Blair, Australia
1978 – Larry Blair, Australia
1977 – Rory Russell, Hawaii
1976 – Rory Russell, Hawaii
1975 – Shaun Tomson, South Africa
1974 – Jeff Crawford, USA
1973 – Gerry Lopez, Hawaii
1972 – Gerry Lopez, Hawaii
1971 – Jeff Hakman, Hawaii


My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop